Click to contact us or call 02476 353537

Nuffield Trust announces 2015 Scholars

The latest group of Nuffield Scholarships has just been announced, with 23 awards given.

nuffield logo

The latest group of Nuffield Scholarships has just been announced, with 23 awards given.

The successful Scholars have been selected from over 60 applicants on the basis that they will lead positive change in farming, food, horticulture and rural sectors, as well as inspiring passion and potential in people along the way.

This year, similarly to others, the calibre of applicants has been incredibly high, making the application process very difficult for those involved,” says Mike Vacher, Nuffield Farming Scholarships Director.

I’m extremely confident that we’ve selected, and brought together, a group of passionate individuals who will rise to any challenges that the Scholarships may bring their way over the next 18 months,” adds Mike.

Bursary funding available encourages Scholars to travel for at least eight weeks over the 18-month period of their study. During this time they’ll carry out their own research, and review global practices.

Mike explains, “the Scholarships allow those involved to take a step back from day-to-day routine and study a subject of personal interest with access to the world’s leaders in food and farming. Ultimately, the Trust hopes that research findings will deliver benefits to UK agricultural and related industries through knowledge transfer.

The diverse range of report titles showcases the dynamic and broad nature of the Scholarship, with chosen subject areas ranging from early nutrition of the artificially reared calf and alternatives to antibiotics in agriculture, through to agro-psychology of farmers,” adds Mike.

The 2015 Scholars are; Kate Adams, Trevor Alcorn, Holly Beckett, Jonty Brunyee, Aled Davies, Illtud ‘Bob’ Dunsford, Paul Fishpool, Robert Fleming, Sophia Hepple, Patrick Hook, Andy Howard, Aled Jones, Aidan Leek, Chris Lloyd, Neil McGowan, Aarun Naik, Christopher Padfield, Seth Pascoe, Steven Sandison, Dafydd Saunders Jones, Doug Wanstall, Oliver White and Gordon Whiteford.

These individuals will be officially awarded their Scholarships at the Annual Nuffield Conference on the 20 – 21 November 2014 and will start their studies in the New Year.

This year’s conference is being hosted by the South-East Group and will be located at the Ashford International Hotel, Kent. More information, and booking forms, can be found on the Nuffield website

On behalf of the Nuffield Farming Scholarships trustees, I’d like to wish the 2015 Scholars all the best in their studies,” says Mike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked * great opportunity to promote your business to our dedicated readership of farmers, landowners, estate managers and associated agricultural professionals.
Contact us today on 02476 353537 and let's work together to drive your business forward.